Gluten Free Tootsie Roll Industries

Dots

Junior Mints

 

UPDATE: Jan, 2015

The Tootsie Roll website has been recently updated with new allergen information and I’m happy to report that all Tootsie Roll products are gluten-free! They are also peanut and tree nut free! Please check their FAQs for the most up-to-date information.

From the Tootsie Roll website as of January 24th, 2015:

Do any of your products contain peanuts or nuts?

At this time, all of our confections are completely peanut, tree nut and nut product free. We have no peanut or tree nut products in any of our facilities.

Which of your products is gluten free?

At this time, all of our confections are gluten free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products.

___________

UPDATE: Feb 13th 2012: As I wrote this post a while back I wanted to report that Toostsie Roll Industries still provide the same information regarding the gluten free status of their products. The only difference is that they now mention that Andes cookies are their only gluten containing product. Great! The fact that they do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt, or any of their components, either as ingredients or as part of the manufacturing process is pretty great news for celiacs!

All Tootsie products are:

  • Gluten-Free (All Tootsie products are gluten free except Andes cookies.)
  • Peanut-Free
  • Nut Product-Free

Tootsie does not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt, or any of their components, either as ingredients or as part of the manufacturing process.

Corn and soy products are used during the manufacturing process

In the States, a large number of the candy and chocolate snacks that you find in stores are produced by Tootsie Roll Industries. A lot of the snacks associated with going to the movie theatre like Junior Mints, Dots and Sugar Babies are also made by Tootsie Roll, which always has me wondering which ones are safe for me to eat…

Which Tootsie Roll Industries products are gluten free?

Well… according to their website the answer is all of them!!

The Healthy Living section of their site states this:
Nutrition Labels and Allergen Information:
Tootsie provides the most accurate and updated ingredient statements for each of its products. Consult the Nutrition Chart for each product to determine whether a candy or gum fits into your dietary plan.

All Tootsie products are:

  • Gluten-Free
  • Peanut-Free
  • Nut Product-Free

Tootsie does not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt, or any of their components, either as ingredients or as part of the manufacturing process.

Corn and soy products are used during the manufacturing process.

 

Razzles

Tootsie Roll calling…

I wanted to ensure that this information is update and covers all Tootsie products so I gave their consumer line a call. I was a little concerned with the statement that all of their products are gluten free when I saw that they make Andes Creme de Menthe cookies! No one was available to speak to me at that time so I left a message on their answer phone explaining my query and asking them to call me back.

30 minutes later I received a call from a cheery lady. She confirmed that all Tootsie Roll products are gluten free. I asked about the cookies and she said that they although they use the Tootsie Roll name, they are produced by a different manufacturer. She explained that if a product is manufactured by Tootsie Roll Industries then it will say this on the label and this product will be gluten free.

UPDATE: Feb 13th 2012: As I wrote this post a while back I wanted to report that Toostsie Roll Industries still provide the same information regarding the gluten free status of their products. The only difference is that they now mention that Andes cookies are their only gluten containing product. Great! The fact that they do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt, or any of their components, either as ingredients or as part of the manufacturing process is pretty great news for celiacs!

All Tootsie products are:

  • Gluten-Free (All Tootsie products are gluten free except Andes cookies.)
  • Peanut-Free
  • Nut Product-Free

Tootsie does not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt, or any of their components, either as ingredients or as part of the manufacturing process.

Corn and soy products are used during the manufacturing process

      I want (gluten free) candy! Product Reviews Post a comment Trackback URL

Comments

  • Spangler Dum Dum Pops, Saf-T-Pops, candy canes, and Circus Peanuts are gluten free too. As are Gimbals candies (their jelly beans are SO good!).

  • Thanks for the info! I love jelly beans so I”m always looking for more gluten free varieties 🙂

  • Awesome! Looks like that goes for Canada, too 🙂

Leave a Comment