It’s fast approching that time of year again when a little chunk of chocolate with breakfast for the 24 days leading up to ChristmasÂ starts sounding like a good idea. Looking around the stores recently I’m faced with all of these little doors, numbered 1-24, and I find myself wondering whether or not there is a gluten free treat hiding behind them. Looking at the ingredients on the back , it’s difficult to tell and I don’t want to risk it if I’m not sure.Â How can I find out which calendars are gluten free? If a Cadbury’s Flake, for example, is gluten free then does this mean that a Flake advent calendar will be too?
UPDATE 2012: I found a gluten free advent calendar in ThorntonsÂ and I’m delighted! It also looks like a variety of Cadbury’s Advent Calendars are gluten free. The Cadbury UK site has a list of ‘gluten absent’ products if you look under ‘Products’ and the Cadbury Advent Calendar, Cadbury Magic Advent Calendar and Cadbury Wishes Advent Calendar are on the list! 🙂