My colleagues are always bringing in snacksÂ forÂ the lunch table at work but generally these are cakes, biscuits and chocolates that I’m not allowed. Today I went to make myself a cup of tea and noticed some tasty looking dates..great, I thought, finally somethingÂ I can nibble! Off course I looked at the ingredients first (a coeliac can never be too careful!)Â and they consisted of Â ‘dates, glucose syrup and preservative E202’
Dates: I knowÂ these are safe
Preservative E202: ThisÂ is theÂ e number for Potassium Sorbate (the potassium salt of sorbate acid) usedÂ as a preservative and this isÂ safe.Â (who knew that one day I’d know things like this?!?)
Glucose Syrup: I thought this was just another word for some form of sugar but I thought I’d google it just to be sure.
Wikipedia says:Â The more general term glucose syrup is often used synonymously with corn syrup, since the former is most commonly made from cornÂ starch. Technically, glucose syrup is any liquid starch hydrolysate of mono, di, and higher saccharides and can be made from any sources of starch; wheat, rice and potatoes are the most common sources.
Celiac.com says that glucose syrup ‘Can utilize a gluten-containing grain or by-product in the manufacturing process, or as an ingredient’
This suggests glucose syrupÂ normally does not contain gluten as it is most commonlyÂ made from corn syrup. However, there is the possibility that it could be made from wheat starch whichÂ does contain gluten…seriously? How am I to know whether a product containg glucose syrup contains gluten or not?
UPDATE: From more experienced celiac Laura to newbie celiac Laura. If glucose syrup is an ingredient in a product and it doesn’t say where the glucose syrup has been sourced from then I wouldn’t eat it without doing further research. I would check the company’s website for further information or contact their customer service people to find out more.