Pepsi Gluten Free

Mountain Dew

With all the time and effort we give to ensuring what we eat is gluten free and safe for us, we need to make sure that what we are drinking is also safe. I drink mostly water, tea or fruit juice and try not to drink too much fizzy juice, soda, pop, whatever you like to call it, but sometimes I can’t resist a can of Mountain Dew. Back when I was first diagnosed as celiac I contacted Pepsi to ensure that original and diet dew were gluten free but today I decided it would be a good idea to email them for further and more up to date information. They emailed me back within 2 hours.

Dear Laura,

Thank you for contacting us at Pepsi with your inquiry.

While this company does not make gluten-free label claims, none of the ingredients in Pepsi-Cola products are derived from grains or flours that have been linked to malabsorption syndrome associated with gluten sensitivity.

We want to assure you that our products continue to be suitable for gluten-sensitive individuals with Celiac Disease. Please know that we fully understand the seriousness of this issue, which is why we have shared this information with Celiac Sprue Association and the Celiac Disease Foundation.

This information relates to Pepsi-Cola soft drinks in the US. They confirm that the following are gluten free.

Pepsi (all varieties)
Diet Pepsi (all varieties)
Mountain Dew (all varieties)
Diet Mountain dew (all varieties)
Sierra Mist Natural (all varieties)
Diet Sierra Mist (all varieties)
Mug Root Beer & Mug Cream
Diet Mug Root Beer & Diet Mug Cream
Citrus Blast Diet & Regular
Manzanita Sol
Mirinda (all varieties)
AMP Energy Drinks

I also emailed Pepsi UK to double check the gluten free status of Pepsi products in the UK. I received a fast response from Britvic, which now has agreements with Pepsi as well as Robinsons, J20, Tango and drench. They say that the following products are not gluten free and are therefore not suitable for coeliacs.

Robinsons Fruit & Barley
Robinsons Barley Water
Britvic Tomato Juice Cocktail
Shandy Bass

All remaining Britvic/Pepsi products are gluten free.

When it comes to what you’re drinking whether it be soda, juice, tea or flavoured water do you check that it’s gluten free before you drink it? Do you get online, contact companies and ensure cross contamination isn’t an issue the way you would if you were looking for something safe to eat? I’d love to hear your thoughts on this. Share your opinions in the comments below..



           Product Reviews Comments are closed Trackback URL


  • Great stuff and good to know 🙂

  • I know that Whole Foods 360 brand of sodas are glutten free and the coke has a much better flavor than either pepsi or coke (as I remember them). They even carry ginger ale which was a treat after years of missing the flavor of ginger ale….dont the big companies understand that even 1 part per million is one part too many for many of us!

  • Hooray! I have decided to try going gluten free because I have issues with depression and anxiety, and I was told that a gluten free diet could help. Even though it’s unhealthy and I should quit, Pepsi is a big favorite of mine and hard to give up! Thanks so much for your article, it’s a great help. Now making this lifestyle change isn’t so scary. 🙂

  • There is an app I use “Shopwell”. You have to be careful with the ingredient “Caramel Color”. I’m not a 100% sure but not all caramel color is gluten free.